Buc-ee's Ltd. and Coles IP Holdings LLC, the parent company of Ohio's Mickey's and Mickey Mart convenience stores, have reached a confidential settlement in their trademark dispute. The agreement was finalized during a court-ordered settlement conference held on September 15. Financial terms were not disclosed, and the often-repeated $850,000 figure is not part of this case—it stems from an unrelated lawsuit involving a different defendant.
This distinction is significant because both companies are privately held, with no publicly traded shares. The $850,000 amount, which originated from a separate consent judgment in South Carolina, could misleadingly suggest a measurable windfall or liability. Based on the available record, the Ohio settlement's financial details and any potential changes to Mickey's moose logo remain confidential.
Two Cases, Two Outcomes
Buc-ee's filed its Ohio lawsuit on February 18 in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio, case number 3:26-cv-00414. The complaint alleged that Mickey's name, red branding, and smiling moose mascot could be confused with Buc-ee's brand as the Texas-based travel center operator expands into Ohio. Coles denied the core allegations and filed counterclaims.
In a separate action, the $850,000 judgment was issued against Born United, an apparel company, which consented to pay damages to Buc-ee's, destroy remaining disputed merchandise, and accept a permanent injunction over its use of a Buc-ee's-like beaver. U.S. District Judge David Norton signed that judgment in August. The defendant, court, and case number are all different from the Mickey's case.
USPTO Proceeding Still Pending
One unresolved issue involves Buc-ee's request to cancel two MICKEY MART registrations with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. As of September 19, the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB) record showed the proceeding suspended pending the civil case. A dismissal filing, a consent order, or an update to those registrations would provide more clarity on the practical outcome than the confidential settlement headline does.
Limited Read-Through for Public Peers
Buc-ee's opened its first Ohio travel center in Huber Heights in April, while Coles operates a regional chain of 42 Mickey's stores. The settlement removes a distraction for both private operators, but it does not disclose store revenue, fuel volume, legal costs, or a transaction value. Consequently, it provides no usable valuation benchmark for publicly traded convenience-store chains.
Casey's General Stores (NASDAQ: CASY) serves as a cleaner public-market reference. Its shares closed Friday at $597.48, down 1.64%, on about 1.08 million shares. There is no evidence linking that move to the Buc-ee's settlement. Casey's own operating data point elsewhere: in the quarter ended July 31, fuel gross profit rose 19.6% to $446.9 million, even as same-store gallons slipped 0.3%. Inside same-store sales gained 3.2%, the inside margin reached 42.2%, and the company plans to open at least 120 stores in fiscal 2027.
While the private settlement may strengthen Buc-ee's trademarks or constrain Mickey's branding as Buc-ee's expands in Ohio, the lack of terms means investors cannot translate it into traffic, margin, or cash flow for Casey's, Murphy USA, or other listed peers. The next useful evidence will be a court dismissal, a public logo change at Mickey's, or a USPTO update—not an amount imported from an unrelated defendant.



